Posted by: Marshall Sponder | August 4, 2008

Western Social Networks don’t seem to work too well in Asia

In makes sense to me that Western Social Networks don’t seem to work too well in Asia according to TechCrunchTaking social networks abroad – Why MySpace and Facebook are failing in Japan

I only wish I had ComScore data for Asia, but I don’t – I only have it for North America, Europe, India and the Middle East.  What really puzzles me is how Yahoo! Social Media can be the leading Conversational Media WorldWide, according to ComScore (what does ComScore know….?)

But it turns out, when I looked at the definition for Yahoo! Social Media I ended up with this – a lot of what Yahoo leads in is Video – but it must be more prevalent worldwide than here (unless they’re counting Flickr, etc):

Anyway, I pulled the entire year of Conversational Media Trend (June 07-June 08) that I can get out of ComScore – in case anyone wants to analyze it (I had to embed the spreadsheet into a word document as WordPress won’t let me upload a spreadsheet) download the whole comscore-report

Zemanta Pixie
Leave a Reply

Categories

