Posted by: Marshall Sponder | August 4, 2008

A couple of cool videos and a slow, slow financial meltdown

Ok, I’m in a good mood that Webmetricguru.com is moving off Know More Media – and I wrote my last post to WMG before it moves off – Webmericsguru Moving – Part Two (probably today or Tuesday – it’ll probably be down for a few days before re-appearing in it’s new look – which will be fine tuned over the next few weeks and into my trip to San Jose and San Francisco for Search Engine Strategies and Semphonic XChange).

Here’s the videos – I like them so much I’m putting them here too:

Also, on a much more somber note – Paul Krugman‘s current OPED in the New York Times on A Slow-Mo Meltdown shows that a slow collapse of the economic system will probably be even more painful and enduring than a sudden collapse, like what started happening in 1929.

I wrote a former client today in the home building business to ask what is the true prognosis for architects and builders when there are over a  million homes that have to be sold first before more homes need to be built.

“…Home prices are down about 16 percent over the past year, and show no sign of stabilizing. The pain from this bust is widely spread: there are millions of American families who didn’t buy mortgage-backed securities and haven’t lost their houses, but have nonetheless been impoverished by the destruction of much or all of their home equity.

Meanwhile, the job market has deteriorated even more than you’d guess from the jump in the headline unemployment rate. The broadest measure of unemployment, which takes into account the rapidly rising number of workers forced to take cuts in paid hours and wages, has risen from 8.3 percent to 10.3 percent over the past year, roughly matching its high point five years ago.

And there’s no end to the pain in sight.”

It’s hard to say where this is all going to end – maybe that’s why I put the videos up.  I have been meeting a lot of people lately, who are in a lot of pain – financial pain, health pain, people losing jobs, some of it, perhaps could be avoided, but most of the pain, is unavoidable – there is no clear answer – of what to do.

And…in fact, I wonder, at times, how best one can help.  As my favorate painter, Paul Cezanne, said:

“….I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s not really possible to help others.

But I think, we do need to be there, listening, present, caring, helping as we can – and while some people, and many more, soon, will have problems that appear unsolvable – I feel the right thing to do is not to walk away.

In the last month, I’ve seen maybe 6 people, people I care about, ill, hopitalized, losing or lost jobs, strugling – and to know the strugle is just beginning – and going to get much, much worse – is hard – I’m wondering myself, if I’ll be touched by it, or like Iron Man, be able to fly above it (with a “Iron” Suit) – ha.

Well, I felt I needed to write a post about what I’m seeing – both the good and bad – because, besides being a Web Analyst and Blogger, I’m an artist, and I feel people’s pain; in fact, sometimes, it’s too much for me, and I feel as if I’m melting, falling into a hole – but I’ll try not to – and strive to be strong and supportive, as much as I can be.

Zemanta Pixie
Leave a Reply

Categories

