Posted by: Marshall Sponder | July 4, 2008

Click Behavior is a poor councilor – ComScore Study

So far it’s a  quiet 4th of July here in NYC, I’m lounging around, and haven’t even gone out yet (or heard a Firecracker go of … how un-4th of July!).

And while my mind is tired, fatigured with all the information I consume – at the same time, I’m drawn to it (not much else going on to engage with right at the moment) so, in the spirit of that feeling – I’ve been posting on Webmetricsguru about Viacom Wins lawsuit – gets YouTube to pony up log data (which I put a few hours into, to research and compose) AND watching the videos just posted from the Conversational Summit that took place here in New York, less than a month ago (I didn’t really attend it – unless you count going by the hotel where it took place later on the first evening – but I didn’t run into anyone – I just sat, had a glass of red wine, and sketched – often, that’s how I think best – I use my abilities as an artist to put order into the world, and then use my abilities as a web analyst, to analyze the data I’m presented with).

Anyway, one of the videos posted from the conference I mentioned on Measuring Conversational Media brought up an interesting point by James M. Lamberti, Senior Vice President, Search and Technology, comScore.

Mr. Lamberti said that deciding the success or failure via online campaigns is really a dead measure, especially in light of a study that showed click rates from Rich Media and Flash going down AND that most of the clickthroughs (80%)that are happening are being produced by 16% of the online population, and most of those people, are charted at the LOWER INCOME.

Which mean, according to Lamberti, that when you optimize a campaign for click through, your could be shooting yourself in the foot, since who you might end up optimizing for, is the behavior of people who aren’t interested and probably would not buy your product/service, anyway!

The argument Mr Lamberti opens up to starts at 8 minutes into the video.

He also brings up that ComScore’s “People Meter” (I never heard of it) measured DayPart ratings of Internet TV vs Regular TV is higher during the day – and that viewership of Internet TV is driven by Conversational Media – Ha!

Mr Lamberti points out the value of a visitor is in the “View Through” not the “Click Through”.

What I’m hearing from the panel in the online video for  Measuring Conversational Media is that speakers are pushing the viewpoints around the products and studies they’ve done, and that’s certainly true of Steve Rubel, who pushes “Trust Metrics” because that’s what he’s concerned with – what he focus on – partly what Edelman does.

But Steve Rubel does bring up the Pink Elephant in the room, there’s no standards in Social Media (the WAA is working on that in our WAASOCIAMEDIAWIKI and Web 2.0 / Social Media Standards Subcommittee).

The other thing I get out of this is that I didn’t need to go to the Conversational Summit – if all I wanted to do is get the main ideas – since the Videos do a great job of delivering the content.

On the other hand, if I wanted to have meaningful conversations with some of the people at the conference, I’d need to attend – and that’s why I go to conferences – or else I can just as easily watch the videos online, as I am, right now (and maybe, watching some Fireworks, later).

Zemanta Pixie
Leave a Reply

Categories

