Posted by: Marshall Sponder | March 30, 2008

Standing Self Portrait – thoughts about it

I painted another self portrait today – being a Web Analyst influences my painting, and vice versa – and I find myself processing a lot of information while I’m painting – it’s almost as if, in my paintings, especially the self portraits – they look back at your – as if they’re alive.

Well, in a way, they are alive – with condensed thought – and often very stroke I make is measured and has meaning – but I do follow my heart.  Still, the process of painting for me now is much different than it was when I was younger – I’m usually much more self aware and direct with what I’m trying to do – whereas, many years ago, I used to grope alot – and never really know when I reached my goal – I just gave up when I could not stand it any longer (and got sick of the painting).

Standing Self Portrait - Marshall Sponder 18″x 36″ Oil Pastel on Canvas Paper - 2008
Standing Self Portrait – Marshall Sponder – Oil Pastel on Canvas Paper – 18″ x 36″ – 2008

Just as life moves so much faster now – so does painting.  I wrote a bit more about the painting at Artnewyorkcity.com in a post titled Last few days and Standing Self Portrait.

Leave a Reply

Categories

